Mixing Poetry With Photography

A beach, a poem, and a chance to try a DSLR all came together in an opportunity at some arty fun.

As a beginner at photography, equipped with a simple point-and-shoot, I lust for any chance to try out more advanced hardware.

A few weeks ago I got my first and thus far only chance to use a proper DSLR camera. It’s owned by a friend of mine who took me to the beach and let me snap to my heart’s content. After some tentative attempts at shooting scenery, rocks and such, I got down to the business of composing a serious photo.

Here is one shot of my attempt at something artful. It mixes some of my poetry with a shot of the shore.

Image

As early attempts go, I’m quite happy with how this turned out. In future I’d like to make such ideas look more natural, with less hand and shoe prints confessing an amateur construct. The words in the photo are:

Adrift,
The wind reminds,
Life was more than water

The piece resonates for me with a previous attempt at integrating poetry within an environment. It was a photo taken in a local forest littered with drink cans, cigarettes and other products of human invasion. The words are by Makhosazana Xaba, a favourite poet of mine. I’m excited to keep trying this sort of thing again in the future. For now though, I’ll leave you with that other photo:

Image
Words written by Makhosazana Xaba. Book: Tongues of their Mothers
2 thoughts on “Mixing Poetry With Photography

Leave a Reply

